Posted by: carolyn / through a widow's eyes | December 25, 2013

“do love, be love”

Been meditating on this: “I slept and dreamt that life was joy. I awoke and saw that life was service. I acted and behold, service was joy.” -Rabindranath Tagore.
I found those lines while my father was in home hospice – he died a few weeks before Christmas 2005. I had been working in my mother’s garden while my father watched from a chair, sunning himself like a skinny cat on the brick patio in the Indian summer warmth. He pronounced one of his many aphorisms from on high, as was his wont: “You do good work.” Which he then followed with “Work is love made material.” 
This has stayed with me ever since. When you have a chance to do love, I mean work, I mean love, take it if you can. The chance to give joy is somehow also the chance to receive. Last night, late on Christmas Eve, I was thinking how vexing it is for Santa to fill a Christmas stocking when the recipient of said stocking stays up til Christmas morning and then sleeps within eyesight of the stocking hung by the chimney with care (in her mama’s bed! Yay!) when all Santa wants to do is go to sleep Herself. But this morning I remembered: this is a another chance to Do Love, Be Love. And then I built a fire, and made some coffee, and watched the birds at the feeders while I waited for Christmas morning to begin in earnest. Merry Christmas y’all.
Leave a Reply

Categories

