Posted by: carolyn / through a widow's eyes | January 20, 2013

affirmation

 

“if I had money,”

we were saying, as we wandered the shingle beach
“if I had money,”
I continued,
“I would use my powers for good.
I would give away a ton of money.
I already know where it would go.
I would enrich the people around me.”
Suddenly struck stock still
on the shingle beach:
I know an affirmation when I hear one.
And how it wants to be phrased.
In the present,
as if
it is already happening.
“I enrich the people around me.”
“You do.”
He said.
And we
walked down the shingle beach.
Leave a Reply

Categories

