Posted by: carolyn / through a widow's eyes | May 15, 2011

Doctor

I was having a random, apropos of nothing checkup the other day. Last year when I met this doctor she saw “widowed” circled on the form, and we talked about it at length. I cried. She was very understanding. She had lost a grown son 10 years ago, and she talked about how hard it is/yet life goes on eventually.

This year she said
How long has it been now?
and I said 21 months,
and she said Oh. You’re still counting.

Yes. I am still counting.

And I don’t know what I would do without all of you here with me.

Responses

  1. I just had to share this link (to a radio show) with you because a mother and daughter talk about their sign (which is dimes for them) and because you’re always finding signs of hearts, I thought you might like to listen to it x

    I don’t know if we ever stop counting … perhaps we just count in different (larger measurements and less often …. years instead of months. After all we began with hours then days, now months

    Like

  2. erm, widow brain – here is the link: http://www.opentohope.com/2011/05/12/deneene-florino-surviving-and-thriving-after-loss/

    Like

  3. Thanks for the link boo. I will listen. Sometimes the hearts feel like he is laying them out for me to find, and sometimes I think it is all just me walking slowly through life noticing. Sometimes they are way too freaky in how/when/where they appear and what material they are. I just don’t know what to think..

    Yes, I figure at two years it’ll go to years not months. Like when my little girl turned two then she was just two, not 24 months. But I did not feel the need to defend myself to the dr. ; I was too busy being offended.

    Oh well…..Life goes on they keep telling me.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

